Question

Multiple Product Break-Even Analysis Joe's Tax Service prepares tax returns for low-to middle-income taxpayers. Its service...

Multiple Product Break-Even Analysis
Joe's Tax Service prepares tax returns for low-to middle-income taxpayers. Its service operates January 2 through April 15 at a counter in a local grocery store. All jobs are classified into one of three categories: standard, multiform, and complex. Following is information for last year. Also, last year, the fixed cost of rent, utilities, and so forth were $55,000.

Standard Multiform Complex
Billing rate $55 $130 $255
Average variable costs (30) (75) (150)
Average contribution margin $25 $55 $105
Number of returns prepared 1,750 500 250

Required
(a.) Determine Joe's break-even dollar sales volume.

Round contribution margin to three decimal places.

Round break-even sales volume to the nearest dollar.

Product

Weighted

Selling Price

Weighted

Contribution

Margin

Standard $Answer $Answer
Multiform Answer Answer
Complex Answer Answer
Total $ Answer $ Answer
Contribution margin ratio: Answer
Break-even sales volume: $Answer

(b.) Determine Joe's margin of safety in sales dollars.

Round answer to the nearest dollar.

Homework Answers

Answer #1
Product mix:
Standard 70% =1750/(1750+500+250)
Multiform 20% =500/(1750+500+250)
Complex 10% =250/(1750+500+250)
Product Weighted Selling Price Weighted Contribution Margin
Standard 38.5 17.5
Multiform 26 11
Complex 25.5 10.5
Total 90 39
Contribution margin ratio: 0.433 =39/90
Break-even sales volume: 126923 =55000/0.433
b
Total sales=(1750*55)+(500*130)+(250*255)= $225000
Margin of safety in sales dollars=225000-126923= $98077
Know the answer?
Your Answer:

Post as a guest

Your Name:

What's your source?

Earn Coins

Coins can be redeemed for fabulous gifts.

Not the answer you're looking for?
Ask your own homework help question
Similar Questions
Multiple Product Break-Even Analysis Joe's Tax Service prepares tax returns for low-to middle-income taxpayers. Its service...
Multiple Product Break-Even Analysis Joe's Tax Service prepares tax returns for low-to middle-income taxpayers. Its service operates January 2 through April 15 at a counter in a local grocery store. All jobs are classified into one of three categories: standard, multiform, and complex. Following is information for last year. Also, last year, the fixed cost of rent, utilities, and so forth were $55,000. Standard Multiform Complex Billing rate $55 $130 $255 Average variable costs (30) (75) (150) Average contribution margin...
Multiple Product Break-Even Analysis Joe's Tax Service prepares tax returns for low-to middle-income taxpayers. Its service...
Multiple Product Break-Even Analysis Joe's Tax Service prepares tax returns for low-to middle-income taxpayers. Its service operates January 2 through April 15 at a counter in a local grocery store. All jobs are classified into one of three categories: standard, multiform, and complex. Following is information for last year. Also, last year, the fixed cost of rent, utilities, and so forth were $80,000. STANDARD MULTIFORM COMPLEX BILLING RATE $75 $150 $275 AVERAGE VARIABLE COSTS (30) (75) (150) AVERAGE CONTRIBUTION MARGIN...
Joe's Tax Service prepares tax returns for low-to middle-income taxpayers. Its service operates January 2 through...
Joe's Tax Service prepares tax returns for low-to middle-income taxpayers. Its service operates January 2 through April 15 at a counter in a local grocery store. All jobs are classified into one of three categories: standard, multiform, and complex. Following is information for last year. Also, last year, the fixed cost of rent, utilities, and so forth were $55,000. Standard Multiform Complex Billing rate $55 $130 $255 Average variable costs (30) (75) (150) Average contribution margin $25 $55 $105 Number...
Multiple Product Break-Even Analysis TPG Tax & Accounting is a full-service CPA firm located in Apache...
Multiple Product Break-Even Analysis TPG Tax & Accounting is a full-service CPA firm located in Apache Junction, Arizona. Assume that tax return services are classified into one of three categories: standard, complex, and full-service (includes end-of-year bookkeeping with tax return preparation). Assume that TPG’s fixed costs (rent, utilities, wages, and so forth) totaled $180,000 last year. Additional information from the prior year follows. Standard Complex Full-Service Billing rate $125 $250 $150 Average variable costs (45) (65) (50) Average contribution margin...
Multiple-Product Break-even, Break-Even Sales Revenue Cherry Blossom Products Inc. produces and sells yoga-training products: how-to DVDs...
Multiple-Product Break-even, Break-Even Sales Revenue Cherry Blossom Products Inc. produces and sells yoga-training products: how-to DVDs and a basic equipment set (blocks, strap, and small pillows). Last year, Cherry Blossom Products sold 13,500 DVDs and 4,500 equipment sets. Information on the two products is as follows: DVDs Equipment Sets Price $8 $25 Variable cost per unit 4 15 Total fixed cost is $98,100. Suppose that in the coming year, the company plans to produce an extra-thick yoga mat for sale...
Problem 4-20 Sales Mix; Multi-Product Break-Even Analysis [LO9] Smithen Company, a wholesale distributor, has been operating...
Problem 4-20 Sales Mix; Multi-Product Break-Even Analysis [LO9] Smithen Company, a wholesale distributor, has been operating for only a few months. The company sells three products—sinks, mirrors, and vanities. Budgeted sales by product and in total for the coming month are shown below based on planned unit sales as follows: Units Percentage   Sinks 500 45 %   Mirrors 300 27 %   Vanities 300 27 %   Total 1,100 100 % Product Sinks Mirrors Vanities Total   Percentage of total sales 42 % 30...
Break-Even Units, Contribution Margin Ratio, Multiple-Product Breakeven, Margin of Safety, Degree of Operating Leverage Jellico Inc.'s...
Break-Even Units, Contribution Margin Ratio, Multiple-Product Breakeven, Margin of Safety, Degree of Operating Leverage Jellico Inc.'s projected operating income (based on sales of 450,000 units) for the coming year is as follows: Total Sales $ 11,700,000 Total variable cost 6,669,000 Contribution margin $ 5,031,000 Total fixed cost 2,871,024 Operating income $ 2,159,976 Required: 1(a). Compute variable cost per unit. Enter your answer to the nearest cent. $per unit 1(b). Compute contribution margin per unit. Enter your answer to the nearest...
Sales mix and break-even analysis Conley Company has fixed costs of $15,525,000. The unit selling price,...
Sales mix and break-even analysis Conley Company has fixed costs of $15,525,000. The unit selling price, variable cost per unit, and contribution margin per unit for the company's two products follow: Product Selling Price Variable Cost per Unit Contribution Margin per Unit Yankee $175 $100 $75 Zoro 255 180 75 The sales mix for products Yankee and Zoro is 20% and 80%, respectively. Determine the break-even point in units of Yankee and Zoro of the overall (total) product, E. If...
Break-Even Units, Contribution Margin Ratio, Multiple-Product Breakeven, Margin of Safety, Degree of Operating Leverage Jellico Inc.'s...
Break-Even Units, Contribution Margin Ratio, Multiple-Product Breakeven, Margin of Safety, Degree of Operating Leverage Jellico Inc.'s projected operating income (based on sales of 450,000 units) for the coming year is as follows: Total Sales $11,700,000 Total variable cost 8,190,000 Contribution margin $3,510,000 Total fixed cost 2,254,200 Operating income $1,255,800 Required: 1(a). Compute variable cost per unit. Round your answer to the nearest cent. $per unit 1(b). Compute contribution margin per unit. Round your answer to the nearest cent. $per unit...
Problem 5-21A Sales Mix; Multiproduct Break-Even Analysis [LO5-9] Gold Star Rice, Ltd., of Thailand exports Thai...
Problem 5-21A Sales Mix; Multiproduct Break-Even Analysis [LO5-9] Gold Star Rice, Ltd., of Thailand exports Thai rice throughout Asia. The company grows three varieties of rice—Fragrant, White, and Loonzain. Budgeted sales by product and in total for the coming month are shown below: Product White Fragrant Loonzain Total   Percentage of total sales 48% 20% 32% 100%   Sales $ 321,600    100% $ 134,000    100% $ 214,400    100% $ 670,000    100%   Variable expenses 96,480    30% 107,200   ...