PowerFull manufactures gel-cell batteries. These are rechargeable; made in various sizes and with various capacities. They are used in lighted signs (exit signs for example) to power them when utility power is out. They are also used to power emergency lighting and in computer power backup appliances. Consider their popular 12 volt, 8 amp hour battery that sells for $36 each. Production of this battery has the following fixed and variable costs:
Fixed costs (per year) Variable Costs per battery
Interest on Mortgage $25000 Plastic case $1.00
Utilities 18000 Plates (lead sulfide) 5.00
Salaries of a fixed type 50000 Mfg. labor 2.50
Hazmat License 6000 Electrolyte gel 3.00
Pollution permit 12000 Packaging .50
Other fixed expense 10000 Inert ingredients 1.50
Total fixed $121000 Testing/Certification 3.50
Promotion expense .50
What is the annual breakeven production quantity (use above data, show work)?
If the quantity in #1 can be sold at $36 a battery, what revenue would be generated?
Management insists that $100000 more than fixed costs be earned (variable costs remain unchanged). How many batteries must be sold to achieve this goal (the selling price remains $36 each. Show your calculations)?
Keep the goal of $100000 above fixed costs. Total fixed costs remain at $121000. Price remains at $36. However, manufacturing labor cost is expected to become $3.50 per battery (due to a minimum wage increase). What will become the new breakeven quantity?
What is the Contribution Margin Ratio (CMR), considering the information in (4) above?
Go back to the original data (No wage increase; No earnings goal). Assume only 7000 batteries are sold at a price of $36 each. What is the DOL (show your calculations)?
note :- 1. p/v ratio is contribution margin ratio.
2. Slightly difference in cost is because you can't factor units.
Tried to answer 7 points in sequence and with best of my knowledge.
Hit thumbs up if it helped
Comment your feedback.
Get Answers For Free
Most questions answered within 1 hours.