a) Suppose that Virgin enters the market with a pre-paid plan, charges $0.25 per minute and offers a handset subsidy of $60. Such an attractive offer decreases the churn rate for Virgin to 3% per month (instead of the 6% given in the case). What is the customer lifetime value for Virgin? (6 points)
b) In the above situation, if Virgin runs a reward program for their customers then it will cost them a one-time charge of $60 per customer but the churn rate will fall to 1% from 3%? Should Virgin implement the reward program? (4 points)
a)
CUSTOMER LIFETIME VALUE (CTV) is the value of customer in terms of how much service or product he/she will purchase in his/her lifetime or simply it is the value of keeping customers loyal.
Given:
CTV= ( Average lifetime in years x Margin/Revenue generated by a customer in a year ) - Acquisition cost
CTV= 2.78 x 131400 - 60
CTV=365000-60
CTV= 364940
b)
AFTER REWARD PROGRAM:
yearly churn rate = 12%
revenue generated = 60
Average lifetime in years = 1/churn rate = 8.33
AC = 60
CTV= 8.33 x 60 - 60
CTV= 500-60
CTV = 440
therefore, reward programame should not be implemented.
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