Net-4-You is an Internet Service Provider that charges it 1 million customers $19.95 per month for its service. The company variable costs are $.50 per customer per month. In addition, the company spends $.50 per month per customer, or $6 million annually, on a customer loyalty program designed to retain customers. As a result, the company monthly customer retention rate was 78.8 percent. Net-4-You has a monthly discount rate of 1 percent.
a. what is the customer lifetime value if the customer retention rates are 70% and 95%?
b. what do the results tell you about the impact of customer retention on CLV?
d discount = 1% for month
Which is 1x12 = 12% per year = 0.12
so d= 0.12
r = retention rate
GC = 1million x 19.95 - 0.5 x 1 million = 19900000
Where Cutomer life years = (1/ [1+d-r])
a)r = 70% = 0.7
Cutomer life years = (1/[1+0.12-0.7])
Cutomer life years = 2.38 years
CLV = GC x 2.38 - 6 million
CLV = 19900000x2.38 - 6000000 = 41362000$
r = 95% = 0.95
Cutomer life years = (1/[1+0.12-0.95])
Cutomer life years = 5.88 years
CLV = GC x 5,88 - 6 million
CLV = 19900000x5.88 - 6000000 = 111012000$
b) The more the retention rate increases the the more CLV increases.
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