Shannon’s currently boasts a customer base of 1,750 customers that frequent the brewhouse on average twice per month and spend $29 per visit. Shannon ‘s current variable cost of goods sold is 50% of sales. The customer base is growing at the rate of 3% per month with a customer retention rate of 0.73%, based on data collected from its website and an analysis of credit card receipts. It’s current cost of capital for borrowing and investing is about 12% per year. What is Shannon’s approximate CLV for its average customer? Compute your answer to the nearest penny.
Question 2
Assume that Shannon’s decides to move forward with its loyalty / rewards program. Estimates for the cost per customer are $5.28 per month. Average customer margins, before subtracting off the cost of the loyalty / rewards program, are expected to increase to 34.72 per customer per month with a boost in retention to .82 per month. What is the resulting CLV if the annual interest rate for discounting cash flows remains the same as in Q1 (i.e. 12%)? Round your answer to the nearest penny.
Assume that Shannon’s decides to move forward with its loyalty / rewards program. Estimates for the cost per customer are $6.03 per month. Average customer margins, before subtracting off the cost of the loyalty / rewards program, are expected to be 34.36. Assuming that Shannon’s wishes to obtain a minimum CLV of $120, what is the required retention rate that must be achieved? Assume that the interest rate is 1% per month. Compute your answer to the nearest 1/100 of a percent e.g. 50.13%. However, do not include the % symbol.
ALL PARTS PLEASE
First:
CLV can be calculated as
CLV = m ( r / (1 + i - r) )
where
m = Avg gross margin per customer
= 50% of spending
= 50% of $29
= $14.5 per visit.
There are 24 visit in a year = 24 * 14.5 = $348
r = retention rate = 0.73%
i = discount rate = cost of capital = 12%
CLV = 348 ( 0.73 / (1 + 0.12 - 0.73)) = $1,320.6 (Ans is multiplied by 2)
Question 2:
Net present customer lifetime value is given by
= cash flows from the program / ( 1 + ratio) 3
ratio = 12 % / 12 = 1% (since it is per month)
No. of months for Q1 = 3
Cash flow from the program = 34.72 - 5.28 = $ 29.44
Substituting value in the formula
= 29.33 / (1 + 0.01) 3
= 28.5741
= $ 28.57
Therefore, Net present customer lifetime value (CLV) is $ 28.57
Last part:
where n is the number of years
M is the cost of retention
GC is a gross contribution
d is the discount rate
Now, if we are to calculate for perpetuity, i.e., infinite series
the formula would be
the sum of infinite geometric progression is a / 1-x
where a is the first term and r is a common ratio
in our case, a = GC * r / (1+d)
x = r / (1+d)
First-term would be : (GC * r / (1+d)) / (1-r / 1+d) = GC * r / (1+d-r)
Similarly, second term would be M / (1+d)0.5 / (1 - r / (1+d) = M * (1+d)0.5 / (1 + d -r)
As the given interest rate is 1% per month so annual interest would be 12%
Hence, total = 34.36 * 12 * r / (1.12 - r ) + 6.03 * 12 * 1.120.5 / (1.12 - r)
This should equal to 120.
or,
120 = 412.32 r + 76.578 / (1.12 - r)
or,
134.4 - 120 r = 412.32 r + 76.578
or,
532.32 r = 57.82
or,
r = 57.82 / 532.32 = 0.1086
Hence, back-calculation gives retention rate, r = 0.1086 or 0.11 (Ans)
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