|Menlo Company distributes a single product. The company’s sales and expenses for last month follow:|
|Net operating income||$||31,200|
|1.||What is the monthly break-even point in unit sales and in dollar sales?|
|2.||Without resorting to computations, what is the total contribution margin at the break-even point?|
|3-a.||How many units would have to be sold each month to earn a target profit of $60,000? Use the formula method.|
|3-b.||Verify your answer by preparing a contribution format income statement at the target sales level.|
Refer to the original data. Compute the company's margin of safety in both dollar and percentage terms. Round your percentage answer to 2 decimal places (i.e .1234 should be entered as 12.34).
What is the company’s CM ratio? If monthly sales increase by $57,000 and there is no change in fixed expenses, by how much would you expect monthly net operating income to increase?
1) Break even unit = 148800/12 = 12400 Units
Break even sales = 12400*40 = $496000
2) Total Contribution margin at break even = Fixed cost = $148800
3a) Required unit = (148800+60000)/12 = 17400 Units
3b) Contribution margin income statement
4) Margin of safety (dollars) = 600000-496000 = 104000
Margin of safety (%) = 104000/600000 = 17.33%
5) CM ratio = 12/40 = 30%
Net operating income increase = 57000*30% = 17100
Get Answers For Free
Most questions answered within 1 hours.