Menlo Company distributes a single product. The company’s sales and expenses for last month follow:
|Net operating income||$||19,800|
1. What is the monthly break-even point in unit sales and in dollar sales?
2. Without resorting to computations, what is the total contribution margin at the break-even point?
3-a. How many units would have to be sold each month to attain a target profit of $33,600?
3-b. Verify your answer by preparing a contribution format income statement at the target sales level.
4. Refer to the original data. Compute the company's margin of safety in both dollar and percentage terms.
5. What is the company’s CM ratio? If sales increase by $51,000 per month and there is no change in fixed expenses, by how much would you expect monthly net operating income to increase?
1) Break even unit = 73200/6 = 12200 Units
Break even Sales = 12200*20 = $244000
2) Contribution margin at break even = Fixed cost = 73200
3a) Target unit = (73200+33600)/6 = 17800 Units
3b) contribution margin
4) Margin of safety = 310000-244000 = 66000
Margin of safety (%) = 66000/310000 = 21.29%
5) CM ratio = 6/20 = 30%
Sales increase by 51000 net operating income increase by (51000*30%) = 15300
Get Answers For Free
Most questions answered within 1 hours.